Advocare 10 Day Challenge: day one

So I’ve decided I’m going to be a bad-ass. I’m going to give everything I’ve got in the box. After all, the Open is coming up and I’m going to kick the me of last year’s booty. Part of this is dialing in my diet better because I’m a total sucker for carbs, sugar, and dairy. Enter the 10 day cleanse.

I’ve done an herbal cleanse before and it was a disaster. The pills went right through me, I felt like death, I was turning whiter than usual. I have been assured by those who have used this system that this experience is unlikely to be repeated. I also like the more balanced approach Advocate uses. They stress a diet of raw or barely cooked veggies, fruits, lean meats, and whole grains in moderation for the duration of the cleanse. No sugar, minimize fat. Tons of water. There are herbal cleanse pills that you take for the first 7 days, fiber drinks on the first few and last few days, and probiotics at the end.

I started today. Yesterday was a lot of prep work: grocery shopping for veggies, baking a squash and apples to turn into squashle sauce, and baking some sweet potatoes for lunches. I am anticipating the hardest part of this will be giving up my morning tea with sugar, and my serious Starbucks addiction. Oh, and most carbs.

image

Day One:
Breakfast- two rice cakes with almond butter (just almonds, no sugar) and a cool jam I found that is just fruit with no sugar; fiber drink; Jasmine tea
Snacks- 2 “fruities” (technically these are baby food, but really they are pureed fruit in handy portable pouches); celery sticks with almond butter
Lunch- baked sweet potato with a tiny drizzle of olive oil and honey with a good sprinkle of salt and garam masala; spinach salad with snap peas, turkey lunch meat, mushrooms, cucumbers, half an avocado, and a cool vinaigrette I found that had no forbidden ingredients.
Dinner- Madras lentil chili from Costco (3 servings because I was starving to death); squashle sauce with a wee tiny drizzle of honey, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg.
Herbal pills at bedtime.

Allonsy!

image

So much beta carotene

Leave a Reply

